Letter of the Day: P

Even though I quit my job in four months ago, I still haven’t quite gotten this whole Stay at Home Mom thing down yet.   Granted until last week there wasn’t really a home in the equation.  I quit my job in February, flew to Nebraska to drop L with my parents and jetted off to Rio with S to find an apartment.  L and I left Chicago at the end of March, drove to Nebraska, flew to Egypt, stopped in Germany, and returned to Nebraska to drive across the entire state before moving to Brazil.

After two days at home with me L asked when she could go back to school.  She misses kids and fun.   I am not a kid and apparently, depending on the day, I may or may not be fun.  I think S would agree on that as well.

S is traveling for a couple of days so I got to shirk my lunch responsibilities today and just be fun.   My original plan was to catch the metro downtown on an “adventure” to find L a dress for Festa Junina.   However we realized right before we left the cable man from Net was supposed to come at noon.  Last week we waited for someone to show up and he didn’t, but I thought I would give him the benefit of the doubt. So, reprogram.

In the end, we had a fun day, full of patience, waiting for the Net guy who never came.   Without intention it was a day full of P’s.

L slept by herself last night so we started with pancakes and headed to the park.   Back to the house we chatted with Grandma Penny.   In our afternoon of waiting snacked on pickles and drug out the paints, even resorted to making popcorn paintings.   At 5:00 p.m. with the no show confirmed we went out to the pool down the street and signed L up for  swimming lessons and then passed by a preschool to inquire about openings.

Pretty lame, but L loved it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So now tomorrow is our day for adventure.

Leave a Reply

